© Frank Debard
previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Relive the oriental history of La Rochelle in the 18th century and discover the vast World fared by La Rochelle sailors then, in the fully restored, furnished and decorated mansion of merchant Weiss. It is an official museum that you can make your own, night and day, in various ways :
– A freely accessible museum offering free or guided visits and cultural events : « Escales au Salon ».

– An unforgettable night in one of the B&B rooms of utmost comfort situated on the ground floor with oriental themes : « Orient », « Les Indes », « Bombay ».

– A tea room with 15 tables shared between four different spaces and decors: A wood panelled cabinet of tribal curiosities from the whole World, a small hall and a large hall, furnished and decorated in genuine 18th century style and a green open air patio. The tea room is open from 3 to 7.30 PM every day, except Monday and Tuesday.

– Two reception halls furnished and decorated in genuine 18th century style and a cabinet of tribal curiosities to host your distinguished guests.

The Weiss mansion is one of the 29 merchant mansions in La Rochelle to be registered under the Additional Registry of Historical Monuments. You may find more information and pictures from http://www.culture.gouv.fr.
Only a few minutes’ walk from the city centre, it offers the quiet environment of a private courtyard and garden. its unique 18th century staircase leads to wood-panelled halls furnished and decorated in the same style. The rear garden gate opens on to lush public parks leading to the beach.
Walk around the mansion and ask your hosts about the exotic and artistic artefacts on display, which are catalogued and documented in freely available notes.

© Frank Debard
previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Replongez-vous dans l’ambiance du 18e siècle, le « siècle d’or » de la Rochelle, à l’hôtel particulier de la famille d’armateurs-négociants Weiss récemment rénové en musée vivant où il fait bon vivre, de nuit comme de jour, toute l’année. Il vous emmènera aux Indes orientales, en Chine, au Japon et dans le vaste Monde fréquenté autrefois par les navigateurs rochelais. La Résidence des Indes vous offre au choix :
– Une nuit de rêve dans l’une de ses trois chambres d’hôtes de grand confort au rez-de-chaussée à thèmes orientaux : « Orient », « Bombay », « Les Indes ».

Un salon de thé de 15 tables réparties en quatre espaces et univers différents:  un cabinet lambrissé de curiosités tribales du Monde entier, un petit salon et un grand salon meublés et décorés dans un style 18e siècle authentique et un patio écrin de verdure. Le salon est ouvert tous les jours de 15h à 19h30, sauf lundi et mardi.

– Deux salons de réception meublés et décorés d’époque 18e et un cabinet de curiosités tribales pour recevoir vos invités de marque.

L’hôtel Weiss est un des 29 hôtels particuliers de la Rochelle, construit dans la première moitié du 18e siècle et inscrit à l’Inventaire Général Officiel des Monuments et Richesses Artistiques de La Rochelle. Son dossier avec photos y est consultable à http://www.culture.gouv.fr.
A deux pas du centre-ville historique, il offre la quiétude d’une cour intérieure et d’un jardin privatifs, ainsi que la majesté d’un grand escalier d’honneur qui mène aux salons lambrissés. Sa porte arrière de jardin ouvre sur la longue coulée verte des parcs publics qui mène à la plage.
Flânez dans la Résidence et interrogez vos hôtes sur les objets d’art exotiques exposés qui sont tous catalogués et assortis de fiches techniques en libre consultation.