© Frank Debard
previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

In the 17th and 18th centuries, La Rochelle sailors would travel seas and oceans, on the look out for precious goods Europeans were fond of. They would bring back from their journeys odd exotic objects that rich people would relish and exhibit in their halls. Hence the origin of cabinet of curiosities that were eventually bequeathed to public museums, such as the Lafaille cabinet to the La Rochelle Museum.

In the same spirit, the tea room of the Résidence des Indes is an exhibition venue for aboriginal art from Africa, Asia, America and the Pacific originating from the Sabatier family’s collection.

Detailed notes documenting each of the exhibited artefacts are available to the most curious visitors. The history of the advent of cabinet of curiosities and tea rooms in the 18th century and the saga of the discovery then of exotic beverages such as tea, coffee and chocolate by Europeans in the 18th are also documented.

In a wood panelled decor, you will be welcomed with various fine sorts of tea, coffee or chocolate served with local pastries.

You may also hire the tea room for yourself outside opening hours in the afternoon. Its tables and 16 chairs already in place on 35m² offer a perfect venue for your seated events, be they work meetings, breakfasts, brunches or dinners.

On the way to the rest room, the staircase displays posters of cultural events that recall the cultural revival of la Rochelle in the 1960-90’s, in which Dr Georges Sabatier played a major role. The Résidence has thus hosted the Gotha of francophone theatre, contemporary western classical music and World cinema. A complete file on this unique history is available on request.

© Frank Debard
previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Au 17e et 18e siècle, les marins rochelais sillonnaient les mers et les océans, à la recherche de denrées exotiques très prisées des européens. Ils rapportaient aussi de leurs voyages des objets insolites et hétéroclites qui faisaient le bonheur des gens de biens qui les exposaient dans leurs salons. C’est l’origine des cabinets de curiosités léguées ensuite aux premiers musées publics, comme le cabinet Lafaille au Muséum de la Rochelle.

Dans ce même esprit, le salon de thé de la Résidence est un lieu d’exposition d’objets d’art tribal d’Afrique, d’Amérique, d’Asie et du Pacifique,  issus des collections de la famille Sabatier. Des fiches explicatives sur chaque famille d’objets exposés sont mises à la disposition des visiteurs les plus curieux. L’histoire de l’avènement des salons de thé au 18e siècle vous est aussi contée, ainsi que la saga de la découverte du café, du cacao et du thé par les Européens.

Dans ce salon lambrissé d’époque, vous recevrez un accueil tout oriental. Il vous y sera servi divers thés raffinés, ou encore du café, du chocolat, des jus de fruit que vous pourrez accompagner de friandises locales.

Vous pouvez aussi vous l’approprier en le louant en dehors des heures d’ouverture. Ses tables déjà déployées avec seize places assises sur une surface totale de 35 m² conviennent parfaitement à différentes utilisations assises: réunion de travail, petit déjeuner, brunches ou diner.

En vous rendant aux toilettes du rez-de-chaussée, vous emprunterez un escalier tapissé d’affiches de spectacles qui rappellent la renaissance culturelle de la Rochelle dans les années 1960-90, dont le Dr. Georges Sabatier fut un acteur majeur. C’est ainsi que cette demeure a vu défiler tout le gotha du théâtre francophone, de la musique contemporaine occidentale classique et du cinéma mondial. Un dossier récapitulant cette histoire pourra vous être remis sur demande.